Hollow Branch

This was a hardly a banner day for much of anything. I needed to show up at the dermatology office for a MOHS procedure at 10:10 am, and was told to plan on spending the day there while they took thin layers of tissue, and I waited in a special MOHS waiting room while they did pathology on each layer.

 Ozzie and I got out for his truncated walk and I zipped around the house with the floor duster in an effort to cut down on the dog hair which is once again beginning to form tumbleweed sized balls in the corners. 

Whilst on the truncated walk I took this picture of a truncated branch which actually had three openings where other branches had once been. I decided it looked far better turned on its side than standing upright as I took it. 

The sky may look blue through the hole, but the weather has definitely turned chilly and windy. I got the extra blanket for our bed from the cupboard last night. Some chance of rain is predicted for tonight which would be welcome. In their somewhat opaque and unhelpful way, PG&E has said that fire season and the possibility of 'Public Safety Power Outages' won't be over until we get 'at least two inches of rain'.  

The MOHS procedure turned out to be little more than a simple biopsy, since the squamous cell cancer to be removed was so shallow all cancerous tissues were removed on the first pass, and the  wound didn't  even need to be closed because it was so shallow. They did give me a good supply of Band Aids to keep it covered until it heals on its own.

Having written off the whole day, as advised, I found myself back home by noon with no plans for the day. Instead of getting caught up on Blip as I had planned to do whilst waiting around the doctor's office with a bunch of other people with temporary bandages on their faces necks and ears, I didn't get caught up at home either because I took a nap...highly unusual for me.

As I was leaving the office I was informed that I needed to make an appointment for my six monthly skin check. I politely declined saying I preferred to finish dealing with the results of the last round before starting a new one....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.