Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

Last Word

...on this last day of September!

This gull was highly annoyed that EO was staying close by. I love the attitude!

I am 'work to rule' at work which is causing a lot of confusion, hot heads, and stress.  Hopefully, it won't last long and life will carry on per usual.  I didn't have long after work to go for a walk, but did get out for an hour.  Saw EO the moment I arrived, so walked down to get a few close portraits of him.  He "acknowledged" me with a look then began to preen (I have been noting this to be a pattern with him - sees me so pretends he is more into grooming than hunting).

I did a quick walk around as I have seen the female Red-Bellied and wanted to see if I could get a better shot of her. I passed a gentleman taking photos of a Downy Woodpecker, so waited for him to finish before walking past. He said hi and I commented that there were plenty of woodpeckers around at the moment.  He seemed quite interested so I told him where he could find a Hairy and that he should listen for the Red-Bellied and he might get lucky.

Long story short, I discovered that he was from China for a week to go birding in Ontario as  he had read somewhere that he could see loads of migratory birds this month here.  In the past week, he has traveled down to spots in southern Ontario where birding is quite famous but he saw very little so was highly disappointed. I thought I had best give him a few 'sightings' so quickly took him around and pointed out all the birds he likely would miss....including EO who was hidden from view.  The man was excited to see a GBH and took a few shots of him from a distance.  I told him that he could go closer......Would you believe that EO took one look at him, gave a great squack and flew off???  He circled over our heads and headed over to the other side of the marsh. 

Huh...go figure.  Perhaps EO actually does recognize me???  Who knows.  Maybe just coincidence.  The man did get a shot of EO in flight so was thrilled as it was so close.  Phew!  We walked back out to the parking lot together and would you believe he got into his rental...a Porsche!!??!!  It made me laugh.  Of all the places in the world he could go to.......  : )

Oh, that story got long and I need to go to bed.  Oops.

Take care folks  :))

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.