Piaggio Avanti

Backblip

I wasn't feeling 100 per cent but dragged myself around the field with Ollie dog. I heard an unfamiliar engine note, could see an aircraft but couldn't make out the detail with the naked eye. When I trained my 400mm lens on it I was excited to discover that it was a Piaggio Avanti, a distinctive executive type that my son flies commercially. I've never seen one in the metal before.

This beautiful machine has large rear wings, pushing props and small 'canard' wings at the front. It has been described as "the airborne equivalent of an Italian sportscar."

My image is a bit rubbish. It's a shame it was flying so high and that I have frozen the props. I was set for birds in flight and forgot to reduce the shutter speed. :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.