Walpiri Lands expedition, Day 3

First up today, we walked from the dreary & sad Ethel Creek Outstation to the dry Ethel Creek river bed. O. took us for a walk up the river bed, showing us the various gum trees growing there, looking for birds and other (absent) wildlife. One of the girls found a old rusty billy that had been run over, which looked like a handbag, and would make an intriguing souvenir.

O. also talked to us about the work being done to help the Aboriginal teens, spiritually physically & mentally, which he is involved in. It all sounds very comprehensive and valuable. There's a very active church group in Nyrripi, which I saw singing online - they were incredible.

I'm including an image of my swag, as I know it's a new concept to some of you. I enjoy it! and there's not much chance of rain. If it does rain we can put our gear under the stretcher. Some folk prefer to have their swags on the ground - I like both ways.

I've tied the back of the swag up to a hakea tree, with the back towards the prevailing wind - I didn't want a repeat of 2 nights ago! The tree itself has been through a fire, and the trunk and branches were black & burnt - but it was flowering! An amazingly beautiful bright yellow flower - there's a photo in Extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.