Saved

I found an old photo album from 1958 and in it the photo of Horsey Wind Pump that I remembered. I have photographed it to compare with my blip of last Saturday when we visited the restored Wind Pump. What a difference! I am told that the old picture is particularly interesting because of the pile of Norfolk reeds, cut from the river banks and piled ready to be used for thatching. The reed cutter’s boat is also historical.
We always think of these Norfolk buildings as windmills, and indeed some were dual purpose, milling grain and draining the land. Horsey, however, is just a Wind Pump.
I am so pleased we hunted out the restored building. I have lost touch with all but one of the friends with whom I holidayed on The Broads in 1958. I have emailed the picture to her. I wonder whether she will remember.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.