misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Tree Elimination

In the summer a neighbor to the side of my back garden cut down all of his evergreen trees. I blipped the process on the 22nd of July. It was disturbing. 10 to 12 trees in total.
Yesterday I spoke with J. the backyard neighbour who mows my lawn and pruned some overgrown bushes. She was chain sawing down ALL of the evergreens on her property. Apparently, she does not like to see trees, or perhaps these cedar-type trees. She likes to see a "clean line." She also pointed to a huge old maple near her house, "That bitch has to go!" 
It was hot work. When she quit she left the pile as you see in the photo. It  has rained today so her lumberjack work is on hold.
I have been VERY disturbed about this.
I have young evergreens not ready to take the place of my old dead or dying trees that the woodpeckers still enjoy. She does not plan to replace hers. She likes to look out and see a lawn only. 
There is a healthy red cedar that I see from my birdwatching bedroom window. It is a nesting site for blue jays, doves, and a pair of wrens. Other birds and squirrels roost/rest there. I would hate to lose that tree even though it is hers.
So, I just now went out in the misty rain and taped a card in a lavender envelop to the tree. I asked her to spare this tree and gave my reasons. 
The wood is not used for anything. It is too resinous for firewood. She leaves it neatly stacked at the curb for the Village composting truck to take away.
 I do not understand why we are losing so many evergreens in this one area. It is very hard on the birds. (And me).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.