ORKNEY SOUP

As requested from Sunday's blip here is the recipe. It is in this book, or in fact two books. Firstly A House by the Shore, an excellent, and often hilarious read about the transformation of a derelict house into a hotel. And secondly Scarista Style which contains recipes. The books were written some time ago when the Outer Hebrides were less accessible, and most of the ingredients are home grown or locally sourced. It really is a back to the earth kind of book. In fact, now I've fished it out, it will have to go on Mt Toberead for another perusal. We were lucky enough to visit Scarista a couple of years ago but unfortunately did not eat there.

Orkney Soup

2 carrots
Swede or turnip - about 4oz
3 stalks celery
Onion
2 or 3 leeks and / or a few cabbage leaves
1oz butter
2 tablespoons pinhead oatmeal
1½ pints stock
½ pint milk
Chopped parsley

Chop all vegetables fairly fine. Melt the butter and stir in the vegetables and oatmeal. Add stock, salt and pepper. Simmer for 30 to 40 minutes. Dilute with water if too thick. Add the milk, Stir in the parsley or sprinkle on top.
I did not have any leeks but I added a chopped up potato - just because I love potatoes in soup. And one day I threw in some left over chopped up ham
.

And now, I'm just off to heat some up for my lunch!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.