The Cake Lover’s Week!

By Joanna Miller

On Mondays I refuse to budge
Unless the cake is Chocolate Fudge
Tuesdays, I will take the plunge
With a slice of Coffee Sponge
Wednesdays, when I have a break
Its feet up with some Carrot Cake
On Thursdays if I start to fizzle
I perk up with some Lemon Drizzle
Fridays, I insist I’m fed
On Fruitcake or Banana Bread
Saturdays, I often languish
For a nice Victoria Sandwich
On Sundays? Well, it has to be
Homemade scones for afternoon tea!


After yesterday’s gardening, and having been awake since 4am, it’s been a very quiet, sleepy, achy day. I did manage to bake a cake though, ready for tomorrow morning’s book group so I thought I would share this poem with you as today is National Poetry Day. I’ve yet to finish the book, just hoping I can stay awake long enough to do so...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.