2013: A Photo Odyssey

By Aoraki

Rain Affected

A flypast of a McDonnell Douglas F-18 Hornet and Vought F4U Corsair, Naval Fighters 50 years apart.

Oshkosh Wisconsin hosts the world's largest airshow every year in summer. If you're a bit of a plane tragic like me, it is a must attend event. Everything from homebuilts and classic warbirds, to corporate jets and modern military hardware. Approximately 15,000 aircraft fly-in to the event, and there are more than half a million visitors to the week long show.

Unfortunately for me, I have almost no record of it. We stayed in a tent in the RV/tent camping area along with about 10 thousand other people, and I didn't want to leave my near-new Nikon D2x in the car outside, so I put it next to me in the tent. I remember waking up about 2am in the middle of a enormous rainstorm and thinking "I sure hope this clears up in time for the show tomorrow". Then I rolled over and put my hand into 2 inches of water that my camera was swimming in.

"oh darn" I said (or words to that effect...)

I let it dry out for a day before trying it, but it was dead. Then slowly over the next few weeks, bit by bit, it came back. Everything except the rear screen. But for most of my time at Oshkosh I had a really expensive necklace. By the last day I had a sort-of camera that would only take a single shot then had to be reset. The only way to do that was physically take the battery out. You couldn't change the WB or ISO, and you had no idea what you taken until you dumped it into a laptop. That 'feature' stayed the same until I got back to Sydney 6 months later and had it repaired. It just made it a bit like using a film camera again.

So I guess it means I'm going to have to go back to Oshkosh one day (don't know how I will break it to my wife...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.