Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

A tale of two stores

I've been very impressed by the notice and basket in the lower picture, which appeared quite a while ago in the loo in our local Waitrose store, I was impressed and assumed that it was company policy.
I've argued for a very long time that sanitary protection should be free for all women. I was very surprised therefore when I was in the loos in John Lewis to see the machine in the top picture. Not just that they were charging for the things but how expensive they were. You can buy a packet of 20 for a couple of pounds and this machine was charging £1 for one.
I was back in Waitrose later on and commented to the person at Customer Service and she said that it had been the idea of one of their managers and the staff had all agreed. I said I thoroughly approved and asked for that to be passed on.
The first place I remember providing tampons and towels free was the Rock Trust in their office loos, both for clients and staff, in the early 90s. It's been said before, but if men had periods.....
Off to Inverness tomorrow with my girls, they're both doing the Loch Ness marathon on Sunday, so I'm providing transport. I'm very proud of them both.
Steps today 15679 good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.