Paz e Reconciliação

The Day of Peace and Reconciliation is a national holiday in Mozambique, marking the signing of the Peace Accord that ended the civil war in 1992. I’d made a plea bargain to take the August bank holiday in the UK when I was there, in return for working on this one. That was a bad decision as it was the day I vomited on the train with the broken toilet door, so I was latterly confined to bed and not running gaily in a British meadow in late summertime.

In any case, I was lumped with working today. I finally made peace and reconciliation with my inbox after returning from leave, whilst still fighting the urge to sail off into the Brazilian sunset for ever. Mozambicans weren’t working so it was a relatively quiet day; my main company being these four women in a frame I picked up at a craft market recently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.