Shopping in Ely

Mr Pandammonium was away in London today, but it’s a special day for him. I was more unprepared than usual, so I popped out to Ely to buy some interesting-looking books from Toppings, a gift bag and tissue paper, a card and some groceries.

Back home, I whipped up a tomato sauce, a bread dough and a cake. I got a text saying he was going to have his tea out. I told him he was not going to have his tea out, but he could have a snack to keep him going. He appreciated the directness and the clarity.

I wrote out the card and wrapped the books in the tissue paper and put them in the gift bag.

I forced the dough into two vaguely round shapes, coating them in polenta, because that’s a thing you can do and because we had some. I smeared the tomato sauce on top, and arranged some peppers and capers and stuff on them.

When Mr Pandammonium’s train pulled in, I stuck the kettle on and put one of the prepared pizzas in the oven.

He didn’t seem overly enamoured by the books (see extra), but he enjoyed the pizzas and the cake, even though it didn’t come out well. A slathering of buttercream works wonders.

I think he appreciated my efforts until I played the song I’ve played him every year for years. He hates it, but the alternative is for me to sing, and no-one deserves that on their birthday.

The photo shows Ely cathedral poking out behind the shops.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.