Porter

By Porter

Liverpool with the old cathedral in the background

What a gloomy day, I took this picture before the rain started...then it poured down all day. I forgot my brolly so have had a very bad hair day. I love this cathedral and if you ever get the chance its worth a visit. You can climb to the top for the most spectacular views which I intend to do when the weather is nice and I will put some pics on here. A bit of history... The total external length of the building, including the Lady Chapel, is 189 metres (620 ft) making it the second longest cathedral in the world; its internal length is 146 metres (479 ft). In terms of overall volume, Liverpool Cathedral ranks as the fifth-largest cathedral in the world and contests the title of largest Anglican church building alongside the incomplete Cathedral of Saint John the Divine in New York City. With a height of 100.8 metres (331 ft) it is also one of the world's tallest non-spired church buildings and the third-tallest structure in the city of Liverpool. The cathedral has been designated by English Heritage as a Grade I listed building.....Now I never knew any of that. We learn something new every day :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.