Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Home grown

Another mostly damp and dreary day, but productive, as I completed a large section of my current report and even had time to hoover and tidy downstairs. 

It brightened up in the late afternoon, but I was restricted to a quick jaunt round the garden, as Lizzy was dropping in for coffee after school. I photographed several autumn flowers, but chose this Michaelmas daisy, because it's a home-grown seedling which has popped up in a pot. Often seedlings are fairly undistinguished, but this is a very attractive soft blue, and will definitely be planted out in the garden.

Lizzy and I had a great catch-up - I always used to enjoy our chats when she lived with us, but now we're both so busy that's it hard to find time to get together. We talked about her new school, families, weddings, politics and travel and before we knew it a couple of hours had passed. 

I drove her home while Ben and Sarah prepared dinner - a Vietnamese chicken salad. We needed something light because Alex had cooked an amazing lunch from a recipe he'd found in a magazine - sweet potato and turnip rosti with poached eggs and basil oil. Highly recommended!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.