The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Brian's Work

These were made by Brian Kerkvliet, a Bellingham glass artist I have known for years. He and his family became friends many years ago as we visited Brian's studio during the Open Art Studio tours in Bellingham. They happen the first two weekends in October and today was the first day this year. Eleven years ago we chose two kittens when we visited their home, a farm during the growing season, a glass studio during the winter. Rosie was nine and she had brought home a young white cat, Sneaky, who had met with their resident tom named Pouncer. The result was four kittens. Duma and Mehitabel are two of that litter. Arvin and I and other family members also visited at Christmas time and made our own ornaments. Over the years we've built a warm friendship. Each year I stop in, this time just me, and usually buy a small piece to add to my collection of glass art. These are some that I didn't take home but did drool over. His work is amazing. You can see more at www.gossamerglass.com.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.