Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

These

are what I have come to see. These were my inspiration for a username in August 2014.
Yes the town has other attractions, most of which take higher priority in the itineraries of the majority of visitors. But for me, copious amounts of water cascading down the hillside, pausing in pools, overflowing and cascading again is what floats my boat.
Other attractions, in descending order of hype are; Villa d'Este, Villa Adriana and Villa Gregoriana, all of which I intend to visit while I am here.

Today's forecast was for thunderstorms and so I thought I probably wouldn't want to be trying to get the best shots of ornamental gardens and fountains. I believe that torrential rain takes away the impact of a fountain, especially when one is afraid to get one's camera out. Tomorrow, Tuesday, is forecast to be full sun all day, best for the fountains then I thought, except for the fact that those don't open until 2pm on Tuesdays. My plan therefore was to explore round town today, take a closer look at the Temple of Vesta/Sybilla and the Rocca Pia and shelter from the rain when it came. In fact the Temple is best viewed from the Gregorian Bridge, a view I had already seen yesterday evening, and the Rocca Pia is closed to the public, but I did at least get up close and personal with it.

No hint of rain-clouds so I braved the walk around the valley to get the best possible view of these beauties. Now we all know that Italians have cleverly designed nippy little cars to cope with their twisty narrow medieval streets, but that has meant a serious lack of consideration for pedestrians and it was quite apparent that it is very unusual indeed for anyone to set out on foot along the public road which traces the vertiginous valley sides. I made it there and back safely enough, but it was really quite scary at times. Only one driver flew into a fit of gesticulation and not one thought to offer me a lift.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.