Nadine Pierce, a snapshot

By nadinepierce

Smash and grab

It was all going so well - we met our friend in Oakland for brunch and we were all super excited about our 3-day trip to Yosemite.

Then we got back to our car to find the back and rear windows smashed in and ALL of our luggage stolen, everything, including Sandy’s passport (I had mine on me).

The afternoon has been a whirlwind of getting a new car, going to the police station, trying to get some toiletries and clothing to last the rest of the trip and Sandy had to go back to SF to try and get an emergency passport. He has to go back tomorrow afternoon to get it so our trip has taken a somewhat downward turn. Still hoping to make Yosemite tomorrow once S is sorted with his new documentation.

Thankfully we weren’t there/hurt but just discovered my insurance only covers £300 towards lost/stolen luggage - not even close! I’d been so concerned about the healthcare bit I didn’t pay any attention to that side of things, and never having had to make a claim before in my life didn’t even register :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.