Locked

After work I reflected on the arrival of Captain Cook to our shores 250 years ago.

Mostly I waa reflecting on the 200th celebrations 50 years ago. I was 7 years old and Cook was presented. I knew no different because the narrative was one sided. I marveled at how small the replica of the Endeavour looked as it sailed into the Waitamata Harbour. It was much smaller than what I'd imagined.

Either for my birthday or Christmas that year I received a commemorative Endeavour sailing ship jigsaw puzzle. I loved completing it and reading the celebratory text around the edge.

I cringe now as I recall the imagery of Cook and his men depicted as superior beings on a beach with a local chief and other Maori.

50 years on we've come a distance as a nation. The British government has apologised to the descendents of those killed by Cook and his men. The impact of Cook arriving on the Endeavour and interactive with the Maori population is honoured and a more complete history told.

This anniversary we have an opportunity to heal and walk together.

Today's gratitude: For a warm evening and a spot of gentle weeding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.