Booby Courtship

Another brilliant day which started with another wet landings on to a black beach and a stroll around dune paths, trees, bushes and the close up view of a giant tortoise strolling along the path in front of us!  Loads of land iguanas, sea lions big and small on the beach  (some obviously fleeing quite frisky) mockingbirds, hawks, Darwin's finches, frigate birds, yellow warblers, more crabs, night herons.  Another inelegant entrance into the Zehphyr in a very choppy sea for the lunchtime return to the ship.  When we get bak to the ship we have to have our feet and shoes hosed down, return our life jackets, check in and then we are allowed a snack and water.

The highlight of the day was in the afternoon when we were taken for a trip in the zephyr with along and under the coastline cliffs.  I managed to excel myself getting into the dinghy by stepping onto a rope instead of a step in my efforts to be professional and skilled.  This meant by one leg went rather rapidly down hill into the boat and my other knee made contact with the steps in a way not originally intended,  Fortunately, I landed on my feet and will just have a bruised knee.

All this effort was rewarded by a series of wonderful close ups of the blue foot boobies I had been waiting to see.  The pair you see in this shot treated us to a wonderfully coy courting display.  Such a lot of teasing!  They are so beautiful.

Foot note - this is the shot that won the onboard photography competition so I am now the proud possessor of a Galapagos framed version of my own photograph.  What a lovely souvenir to have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.