Treasure!

With rain bouncing off the windows it was another stay-at-home day, so I decided to clear out some drawers. 

I came across this old Three Nuns tin from my pipe-smoking days.* It felt quite heavy, so I opened it and this is what tumbled out - a pile of old coins, from ha'penny bits to two 1977 Silver Jubilee crowns (currently available on ebay for anything from 50p up to a staggering £1.30). A fortune in a tobacco tin! ;-)

I gave the pennies a polish with Brasso - yes, I know, too much time on my hands - and found that they covered the reign of four sovereigns from Edward VII in 1910 up to Queen Elizabeth in 1963. (See extra)

The most numerous coin was the tiny silver threepenny bit and some of them looked very old, but I couldn't read any of the dates, even with a magnifying glass.

Nothing in the way of treasure, then, but it amused me for an hour or so.

Tuesday is my favourite night on television, with programmes clashing: 'Saving Lives at Sea' v GBBO and 'The Capture' v 'Love in the Countryside'. Decisions, decisions. Thank goodness for catch-up!


* Joke! It was the late ex-Laird who smoked a pipe at one time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.