Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Rowan in the gorge.

In one of the seductive sunny spells earlier today I resolved that we must get a decent walk in at some point. I thought we might head south in the car to Loch Striven ... and then I remembered I had to go to the dentist in the afternoon. I've waited a while for this appointment - my dentist does heroic dentistry in Malawi from time to time, and he's not long back - so I didn't want to miss it. Time to rethink the walk.

The rain was obviously engulfing the area round the Holy Loch in the early afternoon, and we didn't feel there was time to drive very far and still walk, so it was back to the old familiar haunts of the Bishop's Glen, where I've been walking since the 1970s. However, there is a new(ish) stretch of forestry track over an equally new(ish) bridge, and this bare rowan tree with its brilliant berries was hanging on precariously in the gorge below the bridge - a new photo subject!

On the way back down we passed a more blatant burst of red that I couldn't resist, so that's my extra photo. It's completely unedited - no filters or photoshopping - so it's quite commanding. And then I was in time for the dentist and he's polished everything in sight and removed a strange little overhang at the rear of a molar. He thinks I may miss playing with it ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.