Border Tails

By Swannie

My hero with a golden chariot!

This morning, I was somewhere between Annan and Dumfries when my van suffered a puncture. I was on the A75 right on a crawler lane. I got the van into the side of the road, but it still looked dangerous to me. Vehicles, which had been stuck behind lorries, were taking the opportunity to overtake and all it would have taken was one lorry driver not to have been paying attention and there would have been nowhere else for him to go, but right into the back of the van!

I pulled on my hi-viz and climbed up the banking out of danger and phoned fleet support. They contacted the AA and within thirty minutes, Kris the patrol man came to my rescue. It would not have been safe for him to work on the offside of the van, where I had stopped, so I drove, very slowly, and with him following, to the nearest turn off. It didn’t take him long and I was soon on my way.

I have to add that I got a nice wave as I drove through Peebles from fellow blipper, Mazgilchimp, but I have a feeling she might still be wondering who the idiot in the van waving to her was!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.