Feeling old

Walked past the vintage shop in Saltaire at lunchtime and instantly spotted this Crawfords biscuit tin. My parents had the same one until recently, and Miss H now has it as she associated it with staying at Grandma and Grandad’s. Ours has my name scratched into it circa 1970, and my niece and Miss H added theirs in later years. A moved loved heirloom. I wonder what the history is to this one?

It did also get me thinking about plastic.....I’m guessing this has come from a house clearance of someone my parent’s generation, and no doubt it has been used probably daily , as ours has. It will probably serve its purpose for another generation .... will modern plastic alternatives be as well used or are they disposable?

Biscuit of choice would be a homemade ginger snap from he Be-ro book, no palm oil or artificial sweetener any where near !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.