Suddenly...

...a cat's paw...

I have been driven demented by the latest IOS update on iPhone and iPad. Not only just because of the update itself, but because the whole update interferes with my Cochlear Speech Processor. 

I depend on the iPhone and iPad to run and control my Cochlear Speech Processor via the app on both devices.

I can't even begin to explain what is wrong, you wouldn't understand the ins and outs. But it makes the Cochlear Speech Processor hell on earth to wear.

Something from the iPhone and iPad begins trilling or chirping every few minutes in my head but at the sound level of a loud megaphone directly inside my head. Now, the Speech Processor does this noise when it is connecting via Bluetooth to a device, but since the iOS update a few days ago, that sound level of the trilling/chirping has intensified/magnified several times over. It is like what I imagine my head to be like right inside and next to Big Ben as it is chiming. 

The Speech Processor should not be making this noise unless I have actually chosen to connect up to something.

I have done everything I can, mute sound etc, but it doesn't stop that periodic frequent trilling/chirping.

Then, I get spam phone calls daily. I don't answer the iPhone because I cannot hear it anyway. I mean, also I couldn't even hear it ringing. The phone ringing didn't connect to my Speech Processor. Or, at least that was the case before this IOS update a few days ago. So I could ignore phone calls.

Now, if I get a phone call (with this latest iOS update) the ringing of the phone call is actually inside my head at an incredibly amplified scary level. All sound is put via the wires in my head by the Speech Processor but it is controlled by the app, on my iPhone, which was initially set by the hospital audiologist, and the level of volume is set at a safe level by the hospital audiologist.  But the phone actually ringing inside my head is not a safe level. It is far too loud and intense.

I can't even begin to tell you how I feel. My head is invaded with these unwanted, unwarranted ringing/trilling/chirping sounds which are at a noise level that far far exceeds what I should be receiving through the Speech Processor into my hearing neural pathways.

I have tried everything I can think of within the phone settings, the Cochlear App settings and more. And yes, I did turn off Bluetooth connectivity, but it still connected up to my Cochlear Speech Processor which it is NOT MEANT TO DO if I do not have Bluetooth on. 

I met up with a friend Wednesday, and friends at Art group on Thursday. I did try to explain these problems and how they were impacting on me, but my words were inadequate to get through to them. I felt stupid and frustrated. 

On Wednesday, by the time we had finished our coffee, my phone had rung a few times, and the megaphone intensified ringing noise happened in my head each time. This startled me greatly each time because it was unexpected. My friend said, your phone ringing is actually very quiet, I can barely hear it, so why is it so loud to you? I explained, the phone ringing was never picked up internally by my speech processor before this iOS update a few days ago. Now it is ringing inside my head at an intensely high volume because the Cochlear Speech Processor is directly connecting to the actual phone ring. 

My friend knows nothing about technology, but some interested people on the next table, who were fascinated by this exchange, understood more, and chimed in with some ideas. But no ideas worked.

Anyway, another problem was about to emerge. I could see the phone call number was one that needed a response (the organisation had been told email or text only), so my friend said I will answer it and you tell me what to say.  

Well, this next problem was the caller's voice went straight through to my Cochlear Speech Processor, and not through the phone, and consequently my friend was unable to hear the caller's voice. My hearing even with the Cochlear Implant is not good enough to hear a telephone voice. 

The people on the next table tried to help again, but nothing could stop the caller's voice coming directly into my Speech Processor. And remember, Bluetooth is turned off, so I am not meant to be receiving any sound directly from my iPhone to my Speech Processor. 

So, on my way home, to be safe I went home with no ears on, and the phone turned off totally as well as being in aeroplane mode. Actually, I much prefer going back to sight only for being alert and aware, done that most of my life.

So, Thursday, I am at Art group. Problems again with this chirping/trilling noise as though something is trying to connect up to my Speech Processor. But Bluetooth is still off, so that should not happen. I am not using my phone. It's in my bag. Well the phone was ringing again like Big Ben inside my head. I reacted to try and deal with it. The art group didn't know what was up with me, especially when I suddenly took the Speech Processor off my head. 

I explained but it was beyond comprehension. The usual thing of disconnect Bluetooth was said, but it was disconnected. Other suggestions were made. 

I came home again without Speech Processor on or Speech Processor on. I am traumatised wearing it at the moment. 

There are more problems as well with the Speech Processor and this latest IOS update.

I am trying to verbalise this to prepare emails to hospital audiologist, Cochlear, Apple, the Cochlear App developers. And they will be sent Monday morning.

This is complex, how can you tell cause and effect? Which bit in this chain of things is it? What and which has triggered off what and which?

Initially it was the Apple IOS update. But what knock on effect has happened? Has it damaged the actual Cochlear Speech Processor?

I can fully understand some people, and one person I know who asked to be operated on to get these Cochlear wires taken out of their head, and turn their back on the Cochlear Implant.

I am not wearing any ears this afternoon. I need my sanity intact. 

I will try again tomorrow. I will do some online research in a mo. I have already sent a couple of preliminary emails.

What else can I do?

Time for a cup of tea...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.