fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Atlas

Fear not! This isn't a post about the trials of my life and all the burdens that I have to shoulder (which are mostly mundane and hardly numerous); I simply took this photo because I love this statue.

It can be found at Heathrow on the A4 and one of the main reasons I like it is that Atlas doesn't look particularly sad or tired but, instead, has been portrayed full of youthful vim and vigour, as if he's actually rather enjoying being in charge of carrying the world around on his back and not about to start banging on about a pain in his lower back and his lousy pay and conditions.

He's actually quite well-endowed, too, although I have taken my photo from this angle to protect his modesty and prevent any fainting or palpitations amongst the gentle souls who are indulgent enough to read my blog. I assume the sculptor saw fit to equip him so as an indication of Atlas's aforementioned vim and I must say it does suit him better than the equipment featured on many Greek statues which, taken as a whole, would suggest that models were often required to pose in cold weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.