Kuwait towers

The Kuwait Towers are two huge spheres, filled with water. There's also a great viewing platform. G is one of my private students, a Turkish woman and we're doing exam prep. I also consider her a friend, not just a student. She was with me for two courses and now we're working 1:1. As we were talking this morning I realised I had to tell her I'm leaving, and being me I got a bit teary. Let's go she said. Let's get out of here and go have some fun. And it was. She loved showing me these towers which I wanted to see before I leave. I'll miss her and our chats. She's a very liberal Muslim and was telling me I must come to Bodrum (they call it bedroom she said) to see her and her family. 

A visit to the doctor as my arm is still sore, now on anti inflammatories then a visit to the pool and beach. 

The day ended at Aware - a centre to build Arab and Muslim cultural relations. Lauren Booth (Tony Blair's sister in law) and the Two White Muslims (British converts from 30 years ago) were in Kuwait for a tour and so we saw them tonight. Both interesting and fun. Then a free dinner - delicious - generously provided by the local Kuwait community. Nice to see so many friends I know in Kuwait there too. 

The evening ended at Culture Cafe - live music, which is unusual here, but good to do. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.