Wedge tailed Eagle

The biggest buzz for me in Australia is having a chance to see a wedge tailed eagle - the Aussies call them Wedgies. 

The first time I saw one was driving north up the Old Strzrelecki Track, towards Birdsville, and seeing this enormous bird sitting on the side of the road. I screeched! we backed up the road, and of course it flew off. It had been having an altercation with some ravens and they all landed in a nearby tree and yes I got a photo.

Wedgies are about 1/3 as large again as a bald eagle. Their size is 100-102cm, and they weight about 3.5kg. They're massive. Australia's largest raptor, or bird of prey

A friend & I visited the Alice Springs Desert Park and saw the Wedgie that is sometimes on display there - not when it's having a bad day.
It was originally damaged in the wild and can't fly well enough to be let go free, so it's well looked after at the Desert Park. Such a beautiful bird!
There's a photo of me, with it, in Extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.