Bang!!

So, today started off with an early trip to the carpet shop, to pay the balance we owed.

It was bucketing down with rain and only 14c.  We were supposed to be going to look for some new bedding as well, but I wasn't keen as the weather was so bad.

After getting out the car, my husband decided against it so we came home.

I was glad as I just wanted to get on and sort the house out.

I was vacuuming away, getting up all the little bits of carpet around the edges, when I thought I heard a bang.  I ignored it and carried on.

The my husband shouts, 'What was that bang?'  We both started looking around the house.  Both cats were asleep so it couldn't be them.  He looked outside, nothing.

I said, 'Have a look in the garage,' hoping nothing had fallen on the car.

He yells out, 'I found out what it is, come and look at this.'

Apparently, one of the springs had busted on our automatic garage door.  It also sprayed, what looked like water and grease up the wall.

Only problem was, because the spring had gone, we couldn't use the manual pulley to get the door up.  Therefore, we couldn't open the door to get the car out.

We managed to find an emergency number of the company who installed the door.  And they said they'd come out at about 4pm.

Of course, it was going to cost more, as it's the week-end!!  These things always happen on a week-end.

In the end he came out at about 3pm.  And it was fixed in no time.  A bit expensive, but we had no option.  The bedding might have to wait.

Our neighbour, over the road, came to tell us they've sold the house.  To a policeman and his family.

Always good to have the Constabulary around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.