Out of order Mr. Chairman.

YES. 
I remember people being addressed as "Madam Chairman"; as, in the same way as Div. Officer is a rank and Div. commander is a Post (You could, theoretically, be an assistant D.O. in rank and Div. Commander in post; so, in those far off days Chairman was a post and genderless.

This one - MUCH worn.

I was "there" twice; once on a "Junior Officers' course as a Ldg. Fm. and once on a B.A. instructor's course.
1st time I was in group JO/1/10, we made  "Bomb" shapes out of a sheet of paper. We'd swan around camp, tah rah rah rahing the Damn Busters theme;  and, as you might, stop for a chat and lean against a wall.
When we left, the wall said - 
"Smile please, you have just been bombed by JO/1/10"

I left a 1' long, bomb cut out of Formica & secreted it on site. It was still there when I went down on the B.A. instructors' course.

On that course I accidentally lapsed into what I thought was my Cumbrian dialect. 
I said:-
"Careful on these shillies, you might scabble your shoe toes."
They did not question "shillies" since we were walking OVER some at the time & I pointed down. - BUT - "Was ist 'scabble' ~ ~ ?"
Many weeks later I spotted a bloke on TV holding a large item in his hand and telling us:-
"We call this the Scabbling head." Vindicated but unproven since I was never down again to tell them.
;¬)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.