PandaPics

By pandammonium

Hendon beach

We went for an adventure today. The plan was to pick up a monitor from my uncle for my sister, then go for lunch, then drop my sister off at home.

On the way to my uncle’s, we noticed the sea was quite rough, so, on the way to the pub, we went to Hendon beach, where I’ve never been before. The tide was in but the sea was great, crashing against the wall on the right – but only when I wasn’t pointing my camera at it. The photos I got don’t do the sea justice at all.

We didn’t stay long because it was freezing and we couldn’t plodge because we didn’t know if the tide was coming in or going out, and we didn’t want to get stranded.

We came to a massive puddle under a bridge. On the way up on Friday, I heard a story on the radio about a bridge with a deep puddle under it. Those not in the know and too stupid to check would try to drive through and get stuck. It sounds like that village’s equivalent of Ely’s most bashed bridge. We watched a couple of other cars go under it safely, then proceeded on the same side that they had, and got through no bother.

We drove through Seaham, stopping near Seaham Tommy so we could have a neb at what a group of people were doing on the cliffs. Turned out it was the coastguard (see extras). We have no idea what they were doing, but it involved neither a theodolite nor carrying a body up the cliff on a stretcher.

We were definitely peckish by this time, so we set off for the pub. We took a crazy detour, which meant we had to drive back through where my mam lives to get to the pub. We were definitely more than peckish by the time we got there.

The food was up to standard, and we had such a good laugh. We determined that neither tepid nor lukewarm is warmer than the other: they are synonymous, and therefore the same temperature (range). Lukewarm comes from Middle English luke<lew ‘tepid’ + warm; tepid comes from Latin tepidus ‘lukewarm’. However, only substances that are supposed to be hot can be lukewarm. So your tea can be either lukewarm or tepid, but your cola can only be tepid. (Sources: OED, Google, ODE.)

We dropped my sister off and drove back to my mam’s. By the time we got there, we were so tired, we couldn’t even be bothered making a cup of tea. Where’s the butler when you need them?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.