oliophoto

By oliophoto

Beer and Buses

Newport Quay, Isle of Wight.

An amazing annual event, now in its 6th year. Bus enthusiasts bring their classic buses from all over GB - 150 of them this year! Two came from Glasgow: at 8 mpg and a ferry fare that is a pretty huge investment for a fun weekend, all paid from the owners' pockets. There was also a bus from Belgium!

The buses run special routes for the weekend, visiting CAMRA pubs en route. All free to the passengers! We didn't take a ride as I'm nursing a fractured elbow ... but hundreds did!

As anticipated, I met a man I was at school with and haven't seen for 54 years or more: he was helping to run the event. His mother taught me to be a bus conductor back then - I worked the buses during uni vacations: hence my interest. But I'm not a bus nerd!

The extra is "Bus and Boat"

Beer and Buses

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.