CrowingHen

By CrowingHen

white

It's week 6 of A Year With My Camera free class.  I'm still having a blast!

Today I take command of the camera to make my whites white (with the help of the histogram).  

As much as I love my lightbox, I have a hard time getting the background to look white.  I can see it's white!  But the camera never believes me.  I was beginning to doubt my eyes.  

I put the camera on a tripod with a remote shutter then switched it to manual.  I knew I wanted the whole pumpkin to be in focus, so I put it on the smallest (biggest number) aperture.  Then I kept changing the shutter speed until the big histogram peak (there were smaller peaks thanks to henny penny not being white) fell off the right side.  Then I brought it back so the top of the peak was back in the histogram and only a little bit fell off the right.  I tried a few photos on either side of what I imagined was perfect, but my instinct seems right.  At least, I think it is.  It looks okay. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.