Rainbow Valley, Alice Springs

I loved my weekend out at Rainbow Valley. What a uniquely beautiful place it is too.

The coloured rocks really light up early in the morning, and at sunset - as you can see in the photos in Extras. It was the last photo that I was really after. I didn't know which one to Blip - absolutely spoilt for choice.
I put my swag on the low table, after seeing others do the same.

I'd hired a 4WD Toyota in Alice, and it was fine for driving out on the corrugated access track - nowhere near as grunty as that Old Andado Track!

Wikipedia has this to say ...
'Part of the James Range, the reserve is an important site to the southern Arrernte people. The large rock formation known as Ewerre is a registered sacred site. The Park is rich in Aboriginal history especially around the hills and ridges where petroglyphs, (rock carvings) paintings, grinding stones and stone chip tools have been discovered.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.