CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A Goshawk, or buzzard, flying in from Thrupp?

I got a late update from the 'The Gloster Birder', which disseminates local people's sightings of avian activity. It listed an unusual sighting on Saturday 5th October, of a Goshawk flying over Thrupp, the local hamlet which lies just half a mile behind our house and across The Horns valley.

This reminded me that I had photographed a raptor right over our house, and so I checked my library and indeed this picture was shot in the afternoon of the 5th October. I watched it in The Horns valley behind the house, where it was being mobbed by some big black birds, probably crows.

I have tried to compare images of goshawks and buzzards on the RSPB website, and to be honest I think this is actually a buzzard. Can anyone put me right? Whatever it is is has certainly been through the wars, having lost feathers in various parts of its wings. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.