BRIANW

By BRIANW

The Process Of Being Demolished, Aylesford

Didn't get round to any of my own photography this week until today. Work has been horrendous - I worked out my total time away from home, because of overtime and commuting, was well over 60 hours. I had two deadlines that were already running 19 and 11 days over respectively at the start of the week and still weren't finished by the end of it!
Over the past couple of months we have had mental health posters pasted up in our basement yet my workplace features the perfect storm of conditions to make it worse - lack of staff (no more new recruitment for the foreseeable future), massively overrunning deadlines and bosses who don't really listen or are not interested in your problems (when you are at the bottom of the ladder your concerns are very rarely listened to, if ever).
Today's shot is a subject I have shot quite a few times before but these very distinct buildings really are now in the process of being demolished. It's been like a very slow car crash - you can see it happening but there is nothing you can do to stop it. They already look like strange, surreal ghosts of themselves. It's also a bit of a metaphor for how I feel at the moment - another week like last week and I really will feel like I'm in the process of being demolished!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.