the most ethical rice on the market

Ethical Consumer  Magazine says that Kilombero rice, from Malawi, scores 16 out of a possible 20 points for its impact on people and the environment, its sustainability and company ethos. We eat a LOT of rice and  have been eating Kilombero since visiting the Just Trading Scotland             premises in Paisley many years ago when we were starting up the Dunscore Fairtrade Group. I have been to hear the rice farmers speak on their visit to Dumfries and I have recently read in the Scotsman about the  way that Kilombero and JTS work together to improve the lives of farming communities in Malawi. The rice also makes our lives better - apart from it being the best rice ever (I only eat the brown kind), I can enjoy it even more when I know its provenance. 

Even better, my consignment is part of 90kg being sold by Dunscore School and church as part of a "90kg Challenge". If we sell 90 bags of rice, the money raised will be enough to send a child to high school in Malawi.

Win/Win, I'd say..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.