The Way I See Things

By JDO

Contemplative

After yesterday's workshop I had sooooo much processing to do today that I needed to be really focused, and spend all day at my desk. Which is obviously why, when R went to Stratford for some out-of-the-trench time, I went too. I wandered about at the river and snapped a robin and a squirrel, but failed to get the image I really wanted: despite the date, the cold, and the drizzle, there was a single Migrant Hawker flying close to Lucy's Mill Bridge, but he was just a little too far away for the camera to pick him up in the gloom, and then he went down into the reed bed and didn't re-emerge.

Nevertheless, I was happy enough with my robin and squirrel, and was on my way into town to join R for coffee, when I realised that the West Midlands Bird of Prey Rescue people were running a fundraising stall at the Bancroft Garden market. I've blipped their birds several times before, but I haven't seen them for a while, and I never can resist an owl, so I went to give them some money and try for a few photos.

There were lots of people around the stall, which is obviously a good thing, but was making it hard to get a reasonable sight line; and there was also quite a lot of background clutter to try to avoid. But I consider myself to be trained now, after being repeatedly reminded yesterday that detail is good and not every photo needs to contain the entire animal - so I extended the zoom and went for the head shot, and when we got home and I uploaded my files I was pretty pleased with this image.

I'm not certain, but given his colouring I think this may be the owl they call The Jogger. If so, he must be around 20 years old now, which I thought was pretty remarkable, until I read that although this would be about the limit of a wild Eurasian eagle owl's life span, in captivity they can live to the age of 60. There are some more facts about them here, if you're interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.