John Jay Homestead

The weather was very mild today (64F = 17.7C) and I was itching to get outside. I was looking for a new hiking/exploration spot, and found out that the grounds & trail here are open year round. We put on our boots (wellies) and had a fun romp through horse trails, dormant gardens, and quiet lanes. It was a very muddy romp, so we decided that snow banks left over from Monday's snow were perfect boot cleaners.

I like this picture because of the stone wall. The land here is incredibly rocky and stone walls abound, as there was little else to do with all the stones collected while clearing land. I think these walls are so beautiful.

After swimming 1km, romping through the John Jay Homestead for an hour and a half, and playing with our neighbors for another hour, I was pooped. So tonight was pancake night with strawberries. My husband is a great pancake chef.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.