yvonnekgray

By Dollykgray

Fairy Toadstools

This morning I went out with a girlfriend to search for mushrooms again. I would not go on my own as I don't know enough to pick the edible ones. It turned into a lovely day after a cold start and there were fairy toadstools everywhere as well as other poisonous fungi. There were plenty of the  Maroni variety but my friend doesn't like them so I decided not to pick them either. We finally came across a few Rotkappe (translated as red caps, known as orange bolete in English) which grow under birch trees. at home I cleaned the mushrooms and froze half of them. I marinated some steaks to have with the red caps for dinner. 
After lunch I picked up some girlfriends and drove to friend's house for a girly afternoon tea. She made some delicious gooey brownies to go with coffee and had some exciting news for us. 
For dinner we had the steaks with mushroom sauce and potato wedges. The sauce was very good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.