earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Seven Inches and Two Seconds

We've been trying for years to coordinate doing a Parkrun together. If Forrest has been fit, I've been injured. When I've been fit, he's had other things happening on a Saturday, especially during the summer. Well, we finally managed it. We pushed each other all the way around the three-lap course in Roundhay Park. I got a bit of distance on him in the last mile, but he clawed it back and he did me in the final uphill section with a sprint to the line. I think I might just have missed my only chance to beat him. I'm happy to acknowledge I might not get another. He's working hard on his fitness. And it's paying off. I'm very proud of him. For the record, 22.08 played 22.10.

It seems impossible now that it was only a few weeks ago that I could barely move because of my back. It got better rapidly once I could start walking and then jogging. And starting Pilates. I feel like a completely different person, in every respect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.