Gable Erratic

By MsGable

SOCKS AWAY

Firstly, MANY THANKS for comments, stars and favs for the anniversary blip which caught me unawares yesterday. I used to be up on these things but my erratic blipping has put paid to all that. If I ever get round to patching in my missing blips I'd reach the next milestone a lot quicker! You are all very kind, thank you x 

We headed for Grutness and Sumburgh airport this morning to look for a goose but as we reached there we saw two men by a wall peering intently through their binoculars and reaching for their telescopes. We joined them.

It was a Brown Shrike, a mega bird, and we had excellent views. Then came the rush of cars after the news was put out on the birding website. A very good result for what may be a quiet week as many of the birders have left Shetland.

A little later we retraced G's steps up and down the road along all the stone walls looking for his telescope lens cover. No luck. But I did come across two men who we had last seen with the Tengmalm's Owl hunt early this year. That's the nice thing about birding holidays, bumping into people we've met before. Though I could have done without the woman who stuck her tripod leg straight on top of my foot.

Now back to our cosy lodge and the telescope manufacturer has been contacted and is posting out a replacement lens. 

The extras are birders yet again, and some interesting clouds.

I have managed one row of knitting today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.