Ode to joy . . .

. . . and to Italian coffee (whilst we can still get it!)
 
As we made our way down the stairs in St Pancras Station this afternoon, the strains of ‘Ode to Joy’ filtered up to us. A large group of what looked to be Green Party supporters were singing in joyous unison and welcoming incoming EU visitors with song, smiles . . . and flowers. How wonderfully uplifting after all the bitter talk of closing borders and turning people away.
 
Last night
A splendid evening yesterday. All six of the Booker Prize shortlisted authors were on stage at the Royal Festival Hall, including Margaret Atwood and Salman Rushdie. Chaired by the excellent Natalie Hayne (last seen by us in Carlisle a week or so ago), each author read from their shortlisted book, talked about the book and answered questions. The whole session was absorbing and enthusiastically received by the large audience - hardly a seat to be had. 
 
For my own record and for anyone interested
 
Some thoughts on the 2019 Booker Prize, to be awarded tonight. 
 
The books
Margaret Atwood - The Testaments
Lucy Ellmann - Ducks, Newburyport
Bernardine Evaristo - Girl, Woman, Other
Chigozie Obioma - An Orchestra of Minorities
Salman Rushdie - Quichotte 
Elif Shafak - 10 Minutes 38 Seconds in This Strange World 
 
A strong shortlist this year - any one of these books would make a worthy winner. I have read them all . . . correction, I haven’t finished the huge Ellman, but I will do. I have no idea which book will be judged the winner tonight, these are just a few of my thoughts. 
 
The Shafak and the Obioma are both interesting books, and I am glad to have read them, but I feel that neither quite fulfils what the author set out to do. Atwood is favourite to win, ‘The Testaments’ has already outsold any of the others, by a long way, and she was excellent last night . . . but I just don’t think it is good enough, not for her, not for the prize. The Ellman is an astonishing book, an important book, and those who have read it, say it is brilliant and must win. I can’t say, as I have yet to finish it. I loved the Rushdie. It hurtles along in a crazy way, it is in turn thoughtful and hilarious. I think it is probably the best book here. However, the book that ought to win, and I think in the end will win, is ‘Girl, Woman, Other' - a beautifully crafted book telling of the lives of twelve women making their way in the world today. It’s a book for the present day and one that everyone should read and will enjoy reading. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.