Jeanettie6

By Jeanettie6

The sun made a surprise appearance this afternoon, so I thought I'd not go too far and have a wander around Greenwich Park to get some photos and enjoy the winter sunshine.

The parakeets were flying around and screeching in the trees. I managed (for the first time!) to get a shot of one. I chopped the end of his tail off, but this will have to do! They've been in London for a few years now, I Googled to find out more about them...

E-mails from readers also offer a range of theories about the arrival of parrots in Britain - including that they were brought by Jimi Hendrix, that they escaped during the making of a film and that they were released from aviaries damaged during the great storm of 1987.

Researchers have been tracking several varieties of parakeet, originally from countries such as India and Brazil, but which are now surviving in ever-greater numbers in southern England.


I'd like more sunny days like this please, it definitely lifts the spirits!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.