Snowyjones12334

By Snowyjones

Cooking class

Started early today with my ‘training’ down at the beach but it wasn’t long before the rain began to come down. When I say rain, it really doesn’t cover it. If my name was Noah I would have been getting out my tool kit. As it’s not I went into the sea to dry off a bit much to the amusement of my hotel guy/personal chauffeur.
He then took me to the pick up point for the cookery class. First stop was to check out the market which was looking more and more like a floating market by the minute. Luckily there was a brief pause so we were able to go into their traditional round ‘boats’ down the river to try our hand at catching crabs. Patience required for that I tell you, but eventually got one.
While going down stream I couldn’t help thinking why on earth you make a round boat, it’s not rocket science the whole idea of streamlining something to move about efficiently. All was explained later thankfully, because it is round it didn’t count as a boat and, therefore, not taxed.
Cooking class was a good laugh but my rice flour pancakes were a bit of a flop, my gas ran out and I didn’t notice so a bit greasy and certainly not crispy. Papaya salad yummy as not much skill required, same goes for the clay pot fish dish. Spring rolls accompanied all of that and it was a fine feast with some interesting folk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.