Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Prized Possessions

G started her car today. It hasn't been moved for nearly 6 weeks and as it needed a long run, we decided to head out to find the new Camel Race Track which we got to about 50kms later!

What can I say? The Grand Stand for the new track can be seen here. Why it is smaller and not at all in keeping with this part of the world, I will probably never know, but I was just mega disappointed. The only major improvement I can make out is that they have several tracks of different lengths. I'll have to return to check out what the atmosphere is like on a race day.

Driving back, we saw these camels who are having their legs stretched and being taught how to race I guess! Go large to see the expressions on the camels faces and the little ones at the back. They really are incredibly designed animals and like I said yesterday, much looked after and revered! When I was a tour guide, a lot of my guests mentioned camels being very bad tempered. I don't know where they've had that experience, but the ones over here are nothing like that.

I can't believe I am so far down the line and haven't blipped a camel yet. I love them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.