Transitoire

By Transitoire

Nous avons fait du shopping

Today was the first day of the sales in France! So after a lazy sleeping morning (Skype until the early hours really takes it out of you), I met up with Becky, Claire and Laura to take full advantage of the new created discounts.

The thing about sales in France is that you actually have to work out your money off (French logic: if you want something that badly you can work it out!)...the shops just put 50%, or 20% stickers on things, and then you spend at least ten minutes working it out for yourself! So for our first bargain, Claire and I found a Clinique gift set (complete with a full size mascara, eyeliner and eye serum) for the bargain price of 18 euros with the tag of 50% on it. Now as a normal mascara of that brand is 23 euros, and as Englishwomen we thought that the money had already been taken off the price. Oh no. We actually paid 9 euros! Bargain. So much of a bargain that Claire went and bought another, and Becky and Laura bought one each as well! Apart from that, I bought a rather stylish hat (I've decided hats are a good thing, and I should wear more of them!) and then we all went to meet Thomas in Dolly's. Now we have not been there since we all came back, so it was nice to go back to one of our familiar haunts. Think the waiters recognise us, hopefully as those nice English people rather than those snotty/loud/insert word here English people!

Guilty confession: I couldn't resist buying one of their crumbles. They have some very weird and wonderful mixes on their specials board, and I can't resist giving some of the concoctions a go! Today: apple, pear, chocolate and walnut crumble. And very nice it was too! After some lovely long chats about life and the like, Claire, Becky and I headed to H&M (our final stop shop, and yes they have them in France) to have a quick look at their sale. Shops are closing later due to the sale shopping, which was lucky as it was past 6.30pm when we left Dolly's! Was very tempted by a black maxi skirt, but somehow resisted temptation on that particular item. One final stop to find Claire some wool (god everyone is such Grandmas...now as soon as us girls sit down Laura, Kendra and now Claire will all get their knitting out, hilarious!) and a quick chat with the shop assistant we decided to call it a day as we were shopped out.

Got back a lot later than expected so had just enough time to plan my lessons for tomorrow and have a quick Skype with my parents. Oh, and write this of course!

I have had this song in my head now for a grand total of two days. Now the film that I am doing with the students has the song in it (a very clever, and great song mind!), so if I manage to get it out of my head by tomorrow I will listen to it again and probably put it back in my head for the weekend. Which I can't wait for by the way...night out for Meg's birthday! Not that I mind, I actually really like the song, I find it so funny!

Oh, this is Becky having a gander at the menu by the way; I love how the light is on this photograph, and also how perfectly that lock of hair has fallen! Becky is probably the least photographed of my friends, mainly because she sits next to me to avoid the lens, sorry Becky...50mm will just about manage! And you are too bloody gorgeous to not have pictures taken of you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.