Maststepper

A busy evening the night before - the boat club AGM. My main purpose of course was to find if there were any willing helpers to unstep a mast the following day. A beer could be bought...
So awake early, worrying already. Only two backsliders, myself included so perhaps it was going to be a struggle. But what a great shower those Corinthians are. Jim, Brian, Eddies (North and Myatt), our re-elected Commodore George, Joe, Stuart, Stephen and my pal Lawrie all showed to lend a hand. And no mishaps! Well, one tiny clevis pin did plop, that’s all.
Phew!
But how quickly it does get dark now - so it was home to gallop awhile and enjoy a proper winter meal before I was summoned out by the daughter to help with a flower delivery up at Canonmills.
I could sense I was going to sleep well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.