earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Uniform Diversity

I had a plan to go down to London for the day and show solidarity with the folk of Extinction Rebellion. Inspired by Arachne's participation, and feeling a need to escape my bubble, I wanted to experience that energy for myself. I was willing to go with the flow to see where it would take me. I wanted to be open to any opportunity that presented itself.

The universe had other ideas.

My first train never left Leeds. A technical fault couldn't be fixed and we were eventually told to head over to another platform to get the next available London-bound train. It was rammed. We were only just beyond Wakefield when we warned of a likely long delay because of a fatal incident further down the line. I have to say that it was all handled with great sensitivity by the LNER staff, with frequent updates, even when they didn't know too much. We limped to Doncaster and eventually, after a long wait, found ourselves cancelled, the service becoming a return one back to Leeds. 

The day was meant to be about going with the flow and that's where the flow was taking me - back home. It seemed unlikely I'd be in London before mid-afternoon, at the earliest. I aborted my mission and stayed on the train. I've learned that it's wise to listen to the universe. It had clearly decided that it was not the right time for me to get myself arrested!

The energy of the day drained away from there but that energy is currently nothing like as elusive as it has been for most of this year. It will come back. It's a good feeling to be fairly sure about that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.