Chatham Island Kōpi trees

Such an intriguing day at the Chathams today. We’ve photographed
~~ Orange bench - erected in memory of a Moriori woman killed by mistake in a love triangle plus her husband who suicided as a result ...
~~ Windswept Akeake trees, growing in weird shapes
~~ A steep walk down to & back from a very beautiful Comtemplation Bay, with views out over Petre Bay towards Waitangi (where we’re staying in the Hotel Chathams)
~~ Nunuku’s Cave with its fascinating petroglyphs. I’m sorry I can’t Blip them - I ran out of Extras in Australia.
~~ the above forest with its very beautiful Kopi trees.

The weather wasn’t great and we got thoroughly wet a couple of times. I love my boots though - in spite of sticky mud caked in wads on & around the bottoms, and very wet on the outside, my feet stayed warm & dry on the inside. Brilliant!

Thanks to Toni & Debbie for their wonderful organising skills. Their knowledge of the Chathams is legendary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.