Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Red Balloon

By Paul Klee

My homage to his great painting on the day of the funeral of a very good friend of mine. We played tennis as partners many a time - a good humoured, gas woman with a killer backhand.

She was from the country but lived in Dublin most of her life - married to a Dun Laoghaire man. So her funeral was country.

We waked her in her home yesterday til the early hours this morning. The women come together and organise the food and hospitality. Big slabs of ham, salads, cheeses, cakes and desserts, beer and wine and whiskey, laughing and weeping. Her husband is finding it hard to cope so her women friends took over. We catered for large amounts and everyone was fed and watered.

This morning was her funeral. The singing was divine. But it was a sad occasion. She was a great fit tennis player, good humoured and kind always. It was a proper Irish funeral - Mass, singing, the visit to Shanganagh then lunch for the large crowd in local hotel.

My memory is of a great game of tennis we played in Sandycove Tennis Club in the final of the Dublin Summer League about 8 years ago. It all hinged on our game and she and I won in 3 sets. It was close and tense. It was one of those lovely Dun Laoghaire evenings and we enjoyed that game so much.

I had to go back to work after the funeral but I was very sad. I did my work and came home. I wanted to mark the occasion so I tried to emulate the great Paul Klee’s beautiful painting of a red balloon - still and calm and static amongst the jazzy and busy background colours.

My extra shows my way of working. His image top left, watercolour pencils used and mock up for proportions. Jeansminiature top right.

Paul Klee’s Red Balloon which hangs in the Guggenheim in New York. When I retire and win the lottery, I am going to see this ... deffo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.